Council of Europe

Council of Europe
Directorate of Culture and Cultural and Natural Heritage
European Open Partial Agreement on the Prevention,
Protection Against and Organization of Relief in
Major Natural and Technological Disasters
(EUR-OPA Major Hazards Agreement)

The European and Mediterranean Major Hazards Agreement (EUR-OPA) (created in 1987)

Created in 1987, theEuropean and Mediterranean Major Hazards Agreement (EUR-OPA) is a platform for co-operation between European and Southern Mediterranean countries in the field of major natural and technological disasters: its field of action covers the knowledge of hazards, risk prevention, risk management, post-crisis analysis and rehabilitation.

The Agreement is “partial”, as not all member States of the Council of Europe participate, but also “open”, as three Southern Mediterranean countries count among its members. It has to date25 Member States.

In addition to the political drive given by Ministerial Sessions, backed by itsCommittee of Permanent Correspondents (representatives from national Ministries in the field), the technical contribution from itsNetwork of Specialised Centres (25 Centres covering different types of risk) is an essential element of the Agreement’s mechanism.

Network of Specialised Euro-Mediterranean Centres

These structures facilitate the concrete contribution to the common objectives of the various partners through implementation of European expertise and research, formation and information programs. Their specific role is thus to develop projects, both at the national and regional level, who aim to improve the awareness and resilience to major risks within the population.

A first joint activity of ECFF and GFMC in 2007 was the preparation of a special paper for the 4th International Wildland Fire Conference in 2007:

Main Menu

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien