Natural disasters declared in NSW bushfire areas

Natural disasters declared in NSW bushfire areas

4 January 2006

published by

Natural disaster zones have been declared for bushfire areas of NSW’s central coast and south west.

Fires swept through parts of Junee and the Brisbane Water National Park on the central coast at the weekend, burning eight houses and destroying 38,000ha of bush and farmland.

The declaration means the local government areas of Gosford, Junee and Upper Lachlan are eligible for extra assistance under the Natural Disaster Relief Arrangements.

ABC News reports acting Prime Minister Mark Vaile, Acting State Premier John Watkins and Emergency Services Minister Tony Kelly will inspect the area today with Rural Fire Service (RFS) Commissioner Phil Koperberg.

A number of bushfires in New South Wales are still burning within containment lines.

A 21-year-old volunteer firefighter remains in a serious condition in hospital after suffering third-degree burns to 60% of his body as he battled a blaze on his property near Junee.

Five houses were lost to the flames, which killed around 15,000 sheep and 88 cattle.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien