GFMC: Bush and Forest Fires in Australia


Official Bush Fire Danger Period ends – but southern NSW extends permit season

 31 January 2004

NSW Rural Fire Service (RFS) Commissioner Phil Koperberg said asof midnight tonight (March 31) fire permits were no longer needed in most NSWlocal government areas.
However, the Commissioner cautioned that people planning open burning shouldcontinue to contact RFS Fire Control Centres for advice.
The official Bush Fire Danger Period ends on March 31. But laws still apply tolighting open fires and fire permits are still required in some southern partsof NSW due to the continuing dry conditions.
“Traditionally there is a unnecessary rush of open burning conducted at the endof the Bush Fire Danger Period when fire permits are no longer needed,” theCommissioner said.
“We are asking people to take care and call their RFS Fire Control Centre foradvice. You may still require a fire permit in some areas, you may require aBush Fire Hazard Reduction Certificate and you will always benefit by RFS adviceon bushfire management.
“We ask people to be careful with weather conditions which are starting to cooldown but can still cause fires to burn out of control and escape, causing damageto life, property and the environment.
“Even outside the official Bush Fire Danger Period, regulations require peopleto notify neighbouring land owners and land management authorities and fireauthorities 24 hours prior to burning, as well as taking appropriate action toensure containment and control of fire so it doesn’t escape and cause damage.
“We encourage people to get advice from their RFS Fire Control Centre on how tosafely conduct burning activities and how to prepare your homes and families forthe next bushfire season by doing hazard reduction work.
“If an environmental approval or consent is required, the RFS can assistprivate property owners in bushfire prone areas with this by providing freeenvironmental assessment and issuing of Bush Fire Hazard ReductionCertificates.”
Continuing dry weather has caused many southern NSW areas to extend their dangerperiod.
“Lack of rain has dried bushfire fuels and drained water sources such as creeksand dams used for firefighting in some areas,” the Commissioner said.
Areas that have extended their Bush Fire Danger Period and still require firepermits include:

  • Albury City

  • Bombala

  • Conargo

  • Coolamon

  • Cooma

  • Culcairn

  • Deniliquin

  • Eastern Capital City Region

  • Greater Queanbeyan City

  • Gundagai

  • Holbrook

  • Hume

  • Jerilderie

  • Junee

  • Lockhart

  • Murray

  • Snowy River

  • Tumbarumba

  • Tumut

  • Urana

  • Wagga Wagga

  • Wakool

Note: Kiama Shellharbour has year round permits.

Message sent: 31/03/2004 at 04:44PM

The Current Fire Danger Map can be seen here:

Source: NSW RuralFire Service

Further Information:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien